This LibGuide provides information about valuable medical information resources that will help in your daily decision making. Click the tabs above for instructions about using each resource:
Point of Care Tools: mobile apps of information that can be used at the patient's bedside or the "point of care". Mobile Apps available.
Guideline.gov: free, comprehensive list of practice guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse
McGraw-Hill's Access Products: includes Access Emergency Medicine, Access Medicine, Access Pharmacy, JAMAevidence, and the Neurology Collection. Free access to electronic textbooks in each discipline, quick reference tools, multimedia, case files, and self assessments!
PubMed: searchable database including articles from over 5600 biomedical journals
Clinical Queries: easy search engine to quickly locate evidence-based articles
Embase: premier database for pharmacology literature; 2/5th's of the literature is unique to Embase
Cochrane Collaboration and Cochrane Library:information and literature databases that contain solely evidence-based information
ClinicalTrials.gov: freeinternational list of clinical trials
Ageline: Focuses exclusively on the aged 50+ population and issues of aging. Literature from social gerontology and aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. Indexes over 600 journals; includes books and videos.
Cancer.gov: free,comprehensive resource from the National Cancer Institute
Gideon Online: infectious disease information
Medical Letter: founded in 1958, anewsletter by anonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases. Free mobile app.
Micromedex: comprehensive, evidence-based drug information, entire United States National Formulary online. Include tools to determine drug interactions and identify medications by imprint, color, shape, or pattern. Mobile app freely available through TTUHSC Libraries.
EBMcalc: inexpensive app ($10.00) of over 600 pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets, decision trees tools, and dose/unit converters. Available from iTunes, Google Play.
Test Reviews: freequestion bank tools available from TTUHSC Libraries for preparing for USMLE, board prep/certification for IM
MedlinePlus.gov: comprehensive database of free reliable patient education resources
Mobile Resources: links and information to multiple free apps available from the TTUHSC Libraries
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis-Tips for Getting Started: brief outline of steps for conducting a systematic review or meta-analysis. Includes links to detailed resources.
EndNote: bibliographic management software that provides easy formatting when preparing articles for publication. Stores article information for references. Works in conjunction with Word.