Skip to main content

Resources for Residents: Home

Instructions and Links to Information Resources for Residents

Handouts/Links from Orientations

Poll

Was this Guide useful to you?
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
No: 1 votes (100%)
Total Votes: 1

General Information

The LibGuide, Resources for Residents provides information about valuable medical information resources that will help in your daily decision making.  Tabs are organized first by general tools needed by all physicians regardless of specialty.  These are followed by databases, tools, apps, and full-text textbooks designed for a specialty.  Next are links to test review databases.  Last but not least, is information on EndNote (for writing and publishing) and Tips for Conducting a Systematic Review.  Click on the labeled tabs above.

            I) Journal literature databases:  

PubMed  (from the National Library of Medicine)

articles from over 5,600 international biomedical journals

Embase  (of 8,500 indexed journals, 2,900 are unique to Embase)

(premier database for pharmacology; also has European, Asian, and African biomedical literature)

            II) Evidence-Based Medicine:   

Brief overview and a tutorial

Links to:   PubMed’s Clinical Queries and PubMed’s Comparative Effectiveness Research

easy search engines to quickly locate EBM literature in PubMed

EBM Point of Care Tools: Clinical Key, Dynamed, and Essential Evidence Plus

can be used at the patient's bedside or "point of care"; available as mobile apps

Cochrane Collaboration and the Cochrane Databases

expert databases containing EBM information

free Practice Guidelines from Guideline.gov

            III) Drug Information:   

Micromedex   Free mobile app

entire U.S. National Formulary online; evidence-based drug information (not from drug companies), includes tools to determine drug interactions and identify medications by imprint, color, shape, or pattern.

​The Medical Letter   Free mobile app

founded in 1958, a newsletter by a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.

           IV) Clinical Trials.gov    free international list of clinical trials

            V) Patient Education documents from MedlinePlus.gov

free resources! comprehensive, reliable information, many foreign languages; has a mobile app

            VI) Specialty Databases (all free through TTUHSC libraries All Databases icon):

                        Ageline

                        Bloodline.net

                        Cancer.gov

                        DermExpert

                        Gideon (infectious disease)

                        LactMed

                        Psychiatry Online

                        Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology

                        Sport Discus (sports medicine)

                        Surgery videos on MedlinePlus.gov

                        Trauma.org

VII) Pediatric Telephone Advice 

useful book that can be checked out from library or purchased from Amazon

VIII) Tools and Apps

Diagnosaurus             differential diagnosis app from Access Medicine

EBMCalc                    calculators and tools; purchase from http://ebmcalc.com/

Mobile Resources      free apps courtesy TTUHSC Libraries

         IX) Free access to full-text text-books.  

Access Products Umbrella Index

 Access Medicine, Access Emergency Medicine, Access Neurology, Access Pediatrics, Access Pharmacy, Access Physiotherapy, and Access Surgery.  Includes quick reference tools, multimedia, case files, and self assessments!

            X) Test Reviews:   Board VitalsExamMaster,

and the Access Products

            XI) Bibliographic Management

EndNote

            XII) Tips for Systematic Reviews

Contact Reference

Ask A Librarian

Amarillo Reference: 806-414-9964

Lubbock Reference: 806-743-2200; ask for a reference librarian

Odessa/Permian Reference; 432-703-5030

 

TeamViewer

Expert Contact - Lubbock

Peggy Edwards's picture
Peggy Edwards
Contact:
3601 4th Street
Mail Stop 7781
Lubbock, TX 79430
806-743-2212

Expert Contact - Odessa

Erik Wilkinson's picture
Erik Wilkinson
Contact:
800 W. 4th St. Rm. 1B14
Odessa, Texas 79763
432.703.5031
Website / Blog Page