Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowA clinical insight engine designed specifically to address physicians' 3 key search requirements. It provides comprehensive, trusted, and speedy content structured to align with doctors' workflows, whether they are treating and diagnosing patients, staying current in their field, or preparing care plans.
DynaMed PlusThis link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool created by a physician for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice.
After logging in, select EBM Reviews - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowA biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database, which provides access to the most up-to-date citations and abstracts from biomedical and drug literature via EMBASE.com and Medline. It contains over 19 million indexed records from 7,000+ peer reviewed journals, covering 1947 to date, with more than 600,000 additions annually.
Essential Evidence PlusThis link opens in a new windowA powerful electronic resource packed with all of the medical evidence you need to make critical patient care decisions.
Lexi-CompThis link opens in a new windowAn Internet-based platform delivering time sensitive drug information on an easy-to-use interface
NOTE - this subscription is paid by the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy
Medical Letter on Drugs and TherapeuticsThis link opens in a new windowArticles summarize the vital drug facts you need to know, focusing on such elements as mechanism of action, pharmacology, clinical studies, adverse effects, drug interactions, dosing and product pricing.
MICROMEDEX® Healthcare SeriesThis link opens in a new windowThis actionable information spans drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicines, as well as a comprehensive tool to educate patients. Having all of this in a clutter-free, easy-to-navigate interface saves clinicians time and promotes best practices.
The following databases are available to TTUHSC faculty, staff, and students Micromedex® Healthcare Series:
AltMed-REAX™ for the Patient
Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer™
DISEASEDEX™ Emergency Medicine System
DISEASEDEX™ General Medicine System
Herbal medicines : a guide for health-care professionals
IV INDEX® System
Martindale : the complete drug reference
P&T QUIK® Reports
Nursing Reference Center PlusThis link opens in a new windowA user-friendly point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians. Delivers the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases via a nursing-specific graphical interface. Accessible from a patient's bedside, nursing station, kiosk, office, or home.
Ovid databasesThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic databases, full-text books and journals, and evidence-based medicine resources.
See also - Books@Ovid
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: ACP Journal Club (ACP)
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR)
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH)
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
See also - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
See also - International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)
See also - Journals@Ovid (OVFT)
See also - MEDLINE®
See also - MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
See also - PsycINFO®
See also - Your Journals@Ovid
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Includes abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series, as well as patents. "Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources."
Subject areas covered:
Note: "Scopus also includes the historical material published by American Chemical Society, the Springer/Kluwer archive, Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Chemistry and the journals Nature and Science. Scopus has loaded the archives of Elsevier (back to 1823) and the journals Science (back to 1880) and Nature (back to 1869"
Note: Click here for more information about Scopus.
See also: arXiv.org e-Print archive
See also: Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
See also: Scirus
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowToday's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human AnatomyThis link opens in a new window1,547 photographic images and accompanying drawings were compiled into a 24-volume Stereoscopic Atlas of Human Anatomy, completed in 1962. The images in this collection are derived from the Atlas project.
CDC Image LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe newsroom image library is home to the images journalists request most often. These high-resolution, public domain images are ready to print in your publication.
Cell Image LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThis Image Library is a repository for images and movies of cells from a variety of organisms. It demonstrates cellular architecture and functions with high quality images, videos, and animations.
David G. Cogan Ophthalmic Pathology CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe collection in its present form covers ophthalmic pathology. There is special emphasis on areas that Dr. Cogan was particularly interested in, such as the pathology of corneal transparency and its relevancy to the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis, and the changes in the small blood vessels in diabetic retinopathy, as studied in trypsin digestions of the retina.
Decennial Census by DecadeThis link opens in a new windowThis section follows the evolution of the decennial census by detailing the events surrounding each of them. Political and technological changes, and the shifting public demand for information, have all shaped the modern census and the mission of the Census Bureau.
DermNet NZ Image LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAll our watermarked images are free for use for education, teaching and other purposes, providing they abide by our image licence. Please retain the watermark and acknowledge the source, DermNet.
Explore Census DataThis link opens in a new windowCensus data covers 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. For each, it covers topics like education, employment, health, and housing, just to name a few.
Alternate Name(s):Formerly American FactFinder
Global Health PolicyThis link opens in a new windowThis tracker provides regular updates about U.S. government funding for global health. It includes historical trends and tracks funding levels throughout the appropriations process. Data can be customized by fiscal year, sector, and U.S. agency.
HEAL CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.
Histology Guide: Virtual Microscopy LaboratoryThis link opens in a new windowHistology Guide teaches the visual art of recognizing the structure of cells and tissues and understanding how this is determined by their function. Rather than reproducing information found in a histology textbook, a user is shown how to apply this knowledge to interpret cells and tissues as viewed through a microscope.
HIVinfoThis link opens in a new windowHIVinfo is an online resource offering up-to-date HIV/AIDS information to the general consumer, people with HIV/AIDS, people recently diagnosed and those who care for them.
National Institute on AgingThis link opens in a new windowNIA leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research.
Texas Demographic CenterThis link opens in a new windowThe Texas Demographic Center functions as a focal point for the production, interpretation, and distribution of demographic information for Texas. The Texas Demographic Center produces and disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other demographic information.