Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
Popular Databases
Loading...
The most frequently-used databases
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Popular
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowA clinical insight engine designed specifically to address physicians' 3 key search requirements. It provides comprehensive, trusted, and speedy content structured to align with doctors' workflows, whether they are treating and diagnosing patients, staying current in their field, or preparing care plans.
Popular
DynaMed PlusThis link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool created by a physician for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice.
After logging in, select EBM Reviews - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowA biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database, which provides access to the most up-to-date citations and abstracts from biomedical and drug literature via EMBASE.com and Medline. It contains over 19 million indexed records from 7,000+ peer reviewed journals, covering 1947 to date, with more than 600,000 additions annually.
Popular
Essential Evidence PlusThis link opens in a new windowA powerful electronic resource packed with all of the medical evidence you need to make critical patient care decisions.
Popular
Lexi-CompThis link opens in a new windowAn Internet-based platform delivering time sensitive drug information on an easy-to-use interface
Popular
NOTE - this subscription is paid by the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy
Medical Letter on Drugs and TherapeuticsThis link opens in a new windowArticles summarize the vital drug facts you need to know, focusing on such elements as mechanism of action, pharmacology, clinical studies, adverse effects, drug interactions, dosing and product pricing.
Popular
MICROMEDEX® Healthcare SeriesThis link opens in a new windowThis actionable information spans drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicines, as well as a comprehensive tool to educate patients. Having all of this in a clutter-free, easy-to-navigate interface saves clinicians time and promotes best practices.
Popular
The following databases are available to TTUHSC faculty, staff, and students Micromedex® Healthcare Series:
AltCareDex® System
AltMed-REAX™ for the Patient
AltMedDex® Protocols
AltMedDex® System
Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer™
DISEASEDEX™ Emergency Medicine System
DISEASEDEX™ General Medicine System
DRUG-REAX® System
DRUGDEX® System
DrugPoints® System
Herbal medicines : a guide for health-care professionals
IDENTINDEX® System
Index Nominum
IV INDEX® System
Lab Advisor™
Martindale : the complete drug reference
P&T QUIK® Reports
PDR® System
Pharmaceutical MSDS
POISINDEX® System
REPRORISK® System
TOMES® System
Nursing Reference Center PlusThis link opens in a new windowA user-friendly point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians. Delivers the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases via a nursing-specific graphical interface. Accessible from a patient's bedside, nursing station, kiosk, office, or home.
Popular
Ovid databasesThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic databases, full-text books and journals, and evidence-based medicine resources.
Popular
See also - Books@Ovid
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: ACP Journal Club (ACP)
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR)
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH)
See also - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
See also - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
See also - International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)
See also - Journals@Ovid (OVFT)
See also - MEDLINE®
See also - MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
See also - PsycINFO®
See also - Your Journals@Ovid
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Popular
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Popular
Includes abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series, as well as patents. "Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources."
Subject areas covered:
Life Sciences
Health Sciences
Physical Sciences
Social Sciences
Note: "Scopus also includes the historical material published by American Chemical Society, the Springer/Kluwer archive, Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Chemistry and the journals Nature and Science. Scopus has loaded the archives of Elsevier (back to 1823) and the journals Science (back to 1880) and Nature (back to 1869"
Note: Click here for more information about Scopus.
See also: arXiv.org e-Print archive
See also: Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
See also: Scirus
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowToday's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.
Popular
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Primal Pictures Diseases & ConditionsThis link opens in a new windowDisease & Conditions is Primal Pictures’ 3D pathology module covering 88 conditions, including orthopedics, sports injuries, gastroenterology, urology, endocrinology, oncology, and more. It was built to address the particular challenges of teaching pathology, including a lack of consistency across available resources, problems with student engagement, and the reliability of presented information.
New
Primal Pictures Learning Outcomes - MedicineThis link opens in a new windowPrimal's Anatomy Learning Outcomes for Medicine has been designed to provide the anatomical knowledge required by a new medical graduate. It comprises 156 individual learning outcomes, each presented in a video by an expert anatomist using Primal's 3D models.
