Skip to main content
 
 
 

Lubbock Preston Smith Library News: Home

News and happenings in the Preston Smith Library (Lubbock). This includes holiday closings, events, and any new services or resources.

Connect With Us!

There are several ways to get in touch with us! You can always call us or e-mail:  806-743-2211  mylibrary@ttuhsc.edu 
We're also on Facebook and Twitter (links on the library homepage: ttuhsc.libguides.com). We'd love to hear from you!

Upcoming Holidays

 

The HSC libraries will have shortened hours and closings for the Thanksgiving holiday. They are as follows:

Wednesday, Nov. 21: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Thursday Nov. 22 - Sunday Nov. 25 - Closed

Normal hours will resume Monday, Nov. 26

Current News

Printing is now free for all HSC students! Students can print 300 pages, or $30 worth of prints, each semester (for this purpose, a semester is being defined as January - June and July - December). Students can share their printing balances with each other; however, the printing amount does not roll over when each semester ends.

 


Now available through the library: Dollars for Docs, ProPublica's free, online lookup tool! This contains ready-to-use data on billions of dollars paid by pharmaceutical companies to medical providers and health care institutions between August 2013 and December 2016. It now covers nearly $9.5 billion in medical industry payments made to more than 900,000 physicians in the U.S.

This dataset is available by request to HSC faculty and any HSC student with a faculty sponsor. Request our downloadable version of the complete dataset here!  https://librarycatalog.ttuhsc.edu/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=116997

 


 

Is the noise from the construction impacting your ability to study? Ear protection is now available at the front desk (Patron Services).

 


 

If you're looking for an alternative to UpToDate, try DynaMed Plus! It's an evidence-based database you can use at the point of care for quick, reliable information. This database also contains helpful calculators, equations, and images. It's available to all students, faculty, and staff affilitated with TTUHSC (any campus/distance). Find DynaMed Plus on the library website, either under "Popular Resources" or under "Databases" (sorted alphabetically).

 


 

The library's ebook collection is growing! Check this link to see new titles that have been added: http://ttuhsc.libguides.com/ebooks

Reference Librarian - Lubbock

Micah Walsleben's picture
Micah Walsleben
Contact:
Preston Smith Library of the Health Sciences
3601 4th St. MS 7781
Lubbock, TX 79430
806-743-2211