Collection Development Plan
Collections Selection Criteria
The Special Collection and Rare Books Room focus on medical items or books that are from the 1950s or earlier. Items should be in moderate to good repair and require minimal or no conservation efforts. Facsimile editions of important historical works are also collected to allow increased access to the material.
Collection Areas and Intensity
The Special Collection
The Special Collection consists primarily of medical paraphernalia and art works from the United States and Europe dating from before the 1950’s. Special emphasis has been placed on areas of apothecary, hematology, surgical kits, and optometry dating back to the early 18thc. The artworks focus on 20thc and are primarily paintings or prints. Currently, our medical paraphernalia is collected by donation only and we are not accepting any new art works unless they are of significant importance to the art community or to Western Texas.
The Rare Books Room
The Rare Books Room is strictly for books of historical importance to the study and practice of medicine and related fields. The books range in date from the mid 14thc to 1950’s. Although most are originals, high quality facsimiles are also available for ease of research. Primarily, books are added to the collection through donations or purchased if they are of significant interest. Books relating to the practice of medicine in Texas are being actively sought for purchase.
Gifts
The Preston Smith Library appreciates anyone interested in supporting the Collections. To donate physical items to the Collections, please contact the Special Collections Unit Manager to make sure the items match our collection goals. For any monetary gifts, checks should be made out to Texas Tech Foundation, Inc with a statement that they are intended for the Preston Smith Library Special Collection. For details on donation policy, please refer to The Office of Institutional Advancement’s HSC Operating Policies & Procedures 02.03 at https://www.ttuhsc.edu/administration/operating-policies/op02.aspx
Collections Policies and Statements
Mission Statement
To enrich the educational and research experience of our faculty and students by providing access to historic writings and artifacts that inform an understanding of the past, illuminate their specialties, and encourage further research.
Collections Usage and Conduct Policy
The Collections fall under all existing conduct policies held by the Preston Smith Library in addition to their own special conditions. It is recommended that anyone wishing to visit the Collections schedule an appointment to ensure access. If you would like to conduct in-person research, please contact the Special Collections Unit Manager to make arrangements a week in advance of your intended arrival date.
The Special Collection
The Collection is available for viewing to badge holding members of TTUHSC Lubbock faculty, staff, and students during regular business hours with the exception of a few pieces. For members of the public, arrangements should be made with the Preston Smith Library staff prior to visiting to ensure access to the building.
The Rare Books Room
The Rare Books Room is available for tours by request to badge holding members of TTUHSC Lubbock faculty, staff, and students on non-holiday weekdays from 8-5. For other hours, or members of the public, arrangements should be made with the Preston Smith Library staff prior to visiting to ensure access to the area.
Any writing or drawing instrument other than pencils are not permitted in the Rare Books Room. Food, drinks, backpacks, or large briefcases and bags will also need to be left outside. Flash photography and handling of the items is by permission only.
Deaccession Policy
The Preston Smith Library retains the right to de-accession any items whether donated or purchased at any time. Items that are considered inappropriate for The Collections may be re-homed at an appropriate institute. Conditional gifts are only accepted with the approval of the Library Director.
