Libraries: Plagiarism: Fair Use and Copyright Resources for Faculty

TEACH Act

Specifically for online instruction. “The TEACH Act of 2002, expanded the scope of online educators' rights to perform and display works and to make copies integral to such performances and displays, making the rights closer to those we have in face-to-face teaching.”

TEACH Act Information
TEAC Act Information, from the University of Texas Libraries. Includes checklist to use.

LibGuide Resources

University of California Copyright: Fair Use
Provides guidelines and information on Fair Use for teaching and research.
Common Myths About Fair Use & Copyright
The Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School provides common myths about Fair Use and Copyright.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries from the Association of Research Libraries
Course Materials and Copyright for Professors
Course Materials and Copyright for Professors from the University of Illinois Library
Copyright and Fair Use for Teaching
Copyright and Fair Use for Teaching from TTU University Libraries

Checklists and Evaluators

Fair Use Evaluator Tool
An evaluation tool from the Amerlican Library Association to help you better understand how to determine the "fairness" of a use under the U.S. Copyright Code and collect, organize & archive the information you might need to support a fair use evaluation.
Exceptions for Instructors in US Copyright Law Evaluator
An evaluator to help determine exceptions for instructors in US copyright law from the American Library Association.
Fair Use Checklist
A Fair Use checklist from the Copyright Advisory Office at Columbia University Libraries.
TEACH Act Checklist
A TEACH Act Checklist from University of Texas Libraries.

Image and Video Databases

These image and video databases are available to use in course work. Some still require citation, while others are copyright-free and do not need to be cited when used.

Access Products
The Access suite of databases has videos that can be used, but information must be cited. This library resource requires eRaider login.
Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
Licensed under the CC BY-SA 4.0 license, which states you may share information as long as you cite the information.
DITKI (Draw It to Know It)
Library resource. Requires eRaider login to access. Allows users to embed links to database for classroom use in secure course software accessible only to authorized users (students).
Image Bank
Allows educational institutions to download and reproduce images and written content for distribution in the classroom, but not for any other purpose. Check Terms of Use.
LWW Health Library Medical Education
Library resource. Requires eRaider login. Allows instructors to use information in the database for coursework.
MedPix
Free, open-access online database of medical images from the National Library of Medicine and National Institues of Health.
Netter Reference
Library resource. Requires eRaider to access and creation of free account. Allows faculty to download images into PowerPoint for presentations. Check licensing information.
NIDDK Media Library
Copyright-free images if proper credit provided for each image.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Image bank provided by the Centers for Disease Control. Images are generally copyright-free and available free of charge.

Videos Explaining Fair Use for Faculty

Common Myths about Fair Use & Copyright
A video from Stanford University on the common myths about Fair Use and Copyright.
Fair Use Video Series (1st of 10)
This video is the first of 10 in a series of short Fair Use videos from Sara Benson, Copyright Librarian at University of Illinois Library.
Face to Face Teaching Copyright Exception
A video on a Face to Face Teaching Copyright Exception from Sara Benson, Copyright Librarian at University of Illinois Library.

Fair Use Citation Practices

UCLA Library Citing Sources
Guidelines for Fair Use citing from the University of California Los Angeles Library. Includes a checklist to use.
Bibliographic Citation Tools LibGuide
TTUHSC Libraries' guide to citation information. Includes links to AMA Style Guide, APA style guide information, and EndNote and RefWorks citation software.