Downloads
BLAST executables for local use are provided for Solaris, LINUX, Windows, and MacOSX systems. See the README file in the ftp directory for more information. Pre-formatted databases for BLAST nucleotide, protein, and translated searches also are available for downloading under the db subdirectory.
Sequence databases for use with the stand-alone BLAST programs. The files in this directory are pre-formatted databases that are ready to use with BLAST.
This site provides full data records for CDD, along with individual Position Specific Scoring Matrices (PSSMs), mFASTA sequences and annotation data for each conserved domain. See the README file for full details.
This site provides full data extractions in XML and summary data in VCF format. It contains files with information about standard terms used in ClinVar, MedGen, and GTR.
Sequence databases in FASTA format for use with the stand-alone BLAST programs. These databases must be formatted using formatdb before they can be used with BLAST.
This site contains files for all sequence records in GenBank in the default flat file format. The files are organized by GenBank division, and the full contents are described in the README.genbank file.
The protein sequences corresponding to the translations of coding sequences (CDS) in GenBank are collected for each GenBank release..Please see the README file in the directory for more information.
This site contains three directories: DATA, GeneRIF and tools. The DATA directory contains files listing all data linked to GeneIDs along with subdirectories containing ASN.1 data for the Gene records. The GeneRIF (Gene References into Function) directory contains PubMed identifiers for articles describing the function of a single gene or interactions between products of two genes. Sample programs for manipulating gene data are provided in the tools directory. Please see the README file for details.
FTP: Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) Profiles and Datasets
This site contains GEO data in two formats: SOFT (Simple Omnibus in Text Format) and MINiML (MIAME Notation in Markup Language). Summary text files and supplementary data are also available. Please see the README.TXT file for more information.
This site contains genome sequence and mapping data for organisms in Entrez Genome. The data are organized in directories for single species or groups of species. Mapping data are collected in the directory MapView and are organized by species. See the README file in the root directory and the README files in the species subdirectories for detailed information.
Contains directories for each genome that include available mapping data for current and previous builds of that genome.
This site contains data for each build of HomoloGene, beginning with build 35. Complete data for each build are provided in XML, and a data summary is provided in tab-delimited text format.
Downloadable material for NCBI's previously offered Field Guide training course.
FTP: NCBI Structure Course Materials
PowerPoint slides, handouts and exercises for the previously offered NCBI course "Exploring 3D Molecular Structures."
This site contains the full taxonomy database along with files associating nucleotide and protein sequence records with their taxonomy IDs. See the taxdump_readme.txt and gi_taxid.readme files for more information.
This site contains data from the Protein Clusters database arranged by release date. See the README files for more information.
This site provides data from the PubChem Substance, Compound and Bioassay databases for download via ftp. Full downloads of the databases are available along with daily, weekly and monthly updates for Substance and Compound. Substance and Compound data are provided in ASN.1, SDF and XML formats. See the README files for more information.
This site contains all nucleotide and protein sequence records in the Reference Sequence (RefSeq) collection. The ""release"" directory contains the most current release of the complete collection, while data for selected organisms (such as human, mouse and rat) are available in separate directories. Data are available in FASTA and flat file formats. See the README file for details.
This site contains SKY-CGH data in ASN.1, XML and EasySKYCGH formats. See the skycghreadme.txt file for more information.
Downloadable data for SNP.
FTP: Sequence Read Archive (SRA) Download Facility
This site contains next-generation sequencing data organized by the submitted sequencing project.
FTP download site for NCBI databases, tools, and utilities.
This site contains ASN.1 data for all records in MMDB along with VAST alignment data and the non-redundant PDB (nr-PDB) data sets. See the README file for more information.
This site contains the trace chromatogram data organized by species. Data include chromatogram, quality scores, FASTA sequences from automatic base calls, and other ancillary information in tab-delimited text as well as XML formats. See the README file for details.
This site contains individual directories for each organism with data in UniGene. The data for each species includes the unique sequence for each UniGene cluster, all sequences in each cluster in FASTA format and library information for the cluster. See the README file for further details.
This site contains the UniVec and UniVec_Core databases in FASTA format. See the README.uv file for details.
FTP: Whole Genome Shotgun Sequences
This site contains whole genome shotgun sequence data organized by the 4-digit project code. Data include GenBank and GenPept flat files, quality scores and summary statistics. See the README.genbank.wgs file for more information.
Open-access data generally include summaries of genotype/phenotype association studies, descriptions of the measured variables, and study documents, such as the protocol and questionnaires. Access to individual-level data, including phenotypic data tables and genotypes, requires varying levels of authorization.
This site contains data in separate directories for the various projects and resources within the database of human major histocompatibility (dbMHC).
NLM leases MEDLINE/PubMed to U.S. individuals or organizations.
Specifications for NCBI data in ASN.1 or DTD format are available on the Index of data_specs page. The "NCBI_data_conversion.html" links to the conversion tool.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) DTDs
A suite of tag sets for authoring and archiving journal articles as well as transferring journal articles from publishers to archives and between archives. There are four tag sets: Archiving and Interchange Tag Set - Created to enable an archive to capture as many of the structural and semantic components of existing printed and tagged journal material as conveniently as possible; Journal Publishing Tag Set - Optimized for archives that wish to regularize and control their content, not to accept the sequence and arrangement presented to them by any particular publisher; Article Authoring Tag Set - Designed for authoring new journal articles; NCBI Book Tag Set - Written specifically to describe volumes for the NCBI online libraries.
This service allows users to download compound or substance records corresponding to a set of PubChem identifiers, which can be supplied manually or through a text file. Numerous download formats are available, including SDF, XML and SMILES.
PubMed Central (PMC) Open-Access Subset
The PMC Open-Access Subset is a relatively small part of the total collection of articles in PMC. Whereas the majority of articles in PMC are subject to traditional copyright restrictions, these articles are protected by copyright, but are made available under a Creative Commons or similar license that generally allows more liberal redistribution and reuse than a traditional copyright. Please refer to the license statement in each article for specific terms of use.
Subscribe to Web/RSS feeds for updates about NCBI resources.
National Institutes of Health United States National Library of Medicine National Center for Biotechnology Information. (2016). All Resources. Retrieved 12/27/2016 from
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/guide/all/
Amarillo Reference: 806-414-9964
Lubbock Reference: 806-743-2200; ask for a reference librarian
Odessa/Permian Reference; 432-703-5030
