Submissions
An online form that provides an interface for researchers, consortia and organizations to register their BioProjects. This serves as the starting point for the submission of genomic and genetic data for the study. The data does not need to be submitted at the time of BioProject registration.
Guidelines and instructions for submitting assertions about the pathogenicity of human genetic variants. These submissions can include summary data about a variant (variant level/aggregate data); support for variants per case (case-level) is in development.
Database of Genotype and Phenotype (dbGaP) Data Submission Policies
Guidelines and requirements for submitting genotype and phenotype association data to dbGaP.
Database of Major Histocompatibility Complex (dbMHC) Microsatellite Markers Submission Template
Guidelines and template for submitting MHC region microsatellite data to dbMHC.
A web-based sequence submission tool for one or a few submissions to the GenBank database, designed to make the submission process quick and easy.
Tool for submission to the GenBank database of Barcode short nucleotide sequences from a standard genetic locus for use in species identification.
A stand-alone software tool developed by the NCBI for submitting and updating entries to public sequence databases (GenBank, EMBL, or DDBJ). It is capable of handling simple submissions that contain a single short mRNA sequence, complex submissions containing long sequences, multiple annotations, segmented sets of DNA, as well as sequences from phylogenetic and population studies with alignments. For simple submission, use the online submission tool BankIt instead.
A command-line program that automates the creation of sequence records for submission to GenBank using many of the same functions as Sequin. It is used primarily for submission of complete genomes and large batches of sequences.
Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) Web Deposit
Submit expression data, such as microarray, SAGE or mass spectrometry datasets to the NCBI Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) database.
GeneRIF provides a simple mechanism to allow scientists to add to the functional annotation of genes in the Gene database.
Genetic Testing Registry (GTR) Submissions
Guidelines and instructions for registering laboratories and submitting genetic test information including clinical and research tests for germline or somatic test targets. GTR welcomes registration of cytogenetic, biochemical, and molecular tests for Mendelian disorders, pharmacogenetic phenotypes and complex panels.
NIH Manuscript Submissions (NIHMS)
The NIH Manuscript Submission (NIHMS) System is used to submit manuscripts that arise from NIH funding to the PubMed Central digital archive, in accordance with the NIH Public Access Policy and the law it implements. The law and Public Access Policy are intended to ensure that the public has access to the published results of NIH-funded research.
This site enables users to submit data to the PubChem Substance and BioAssay databases, including chemical structures, experimental biological activity results, annotations, siRNA data and more. It can also be used to update previously submitted records.
The SNP database tools page provides links to the general submission guidelines and to the submission handle request. The page has also two specific links for single- or batch submissions of the human variation data using Human Genome Variation Society nomenclature.
Sequence Read Archive Submission
This link describes how submitters of SRA data can obtain a secure NCBI FTP site for their data, and also describes the allowed data formats and directory structures.
A single entry point for submitters to link to and find information about all of the data submission processes at NCBI. Currently, this serves as an interface for the registration of BioProjects and BioSamples and submission of data for WGS and GTR. Future additions to this site are planned.
This link describes how submitters of trace data can obtain a secure NCBI FTP site for their data, and also describes the allowed data formats and directory structures.
National Institutes of Health United States National Library of Medicine National Center for Biotechnology Information. (2016). All Resources. Retrieved 12/27/2016 from
Amarillo Reference: 806-414-9964
Lubbock Reference: 806-743-2200; ask for a reference librarian
Odessa/Permian Reference; 432-703-5030
