This guide is intended for students in the HPHA 5314 capstone course. In addition to the listed databases and information resources, it provides a select number of discipline-specific journals and research development materials.
Healthcare Management Databases
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is a database that includes indexed and full text business journals and magazines. It is a good place to start for business research.
CINAHL UltimateThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.
Gale Business: Insights GlobalThis link opens in a new windowGale Business Insights: Global delivers international business intelligence compiled into a logical, useable context. Designed for business professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and general researchers.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
Sage Business SkillsThis link opens in a new windowThis interactive resource provides opportunities to develop and practice real-world business and professional skills, supporting students in gaining the skills needed to transition into the modern workplace. Over 950 business skills topics are covered and enhanced with a range of engaging multimedia, including original videos, scenarios, data, and expert perspectives.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Includes abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series, as well as patents. "Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources."
Subject areas covered:
Life Sciences
Health Sciences
Physical Sciences
Social Sciences
Note: "Scopus also includes the historical material published by American Chemical Society, the Springer/Kluwer archive, Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Chemistry and the journals Nature and Science. Scopus has loaded the archives of Elsevier (back to 1823) and the journals Science (back to 1880) and Nature (back to 1869"
Note: Click here for more information about Scopus.
See also: arXiv.org e-Print archive
See also: Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
See also: Scirus
AMA: American Medical AssociationOffers information for doctors, medical practitioners, and health care management professionals. Contains articles and news on medical topics with regard to healthcare policies and legal changes.
CDC: Center for Disease ControlThe US government's center for disease information and resources. Contains updated analysis on infectious diseases and management of them.
Department of Health and Human ServicesContains access to valuable information on healthcare management and governmental oversight on things like medicare and medical coverage plans.
FDA: Food and Drug AdministrationThis sight focuses on new and existing edical products and food along with veterinary medicine. It contains information for both consumers and health professionals.
Forbes Health CareForbes health care section has interesting articles, news about topics relevant to both medicine and medical management.
Healthcare.govDiscusses the current state of healthcare in the United States with guides to health care insurance options. Aids managers in the field about information on the US Affordable Care Act and affiliated topics.
WHO: World Health OrganizationWHO is a specialized organization within the United Nations and is concerned with international public health.
