Bioinformatics Data Sets & Information Repositories
EMBL Nucleotide Sequence DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowConstitutes Europe's primary nucleotide sequence resource. Main sources for DNA and RNA sequences are direct submissions from individual researchers, genome sequencing projects and patent applications.
Entrez GenomeThis link opens in a new windowProvides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. The database is organized in six major organism groups: Archaea, Bacteria, Eukaryotae, Viruses, Viroids, and Plasmids and includes complete chromosomes, organelles and plasmids as well as draft genome assemblies.
Entrez GenomeThis link opens in a new windowProvides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. The database is organized in six major organism groups: Archaea, Bacteria, Eukaryotae, Viruses, Viroids, and Plasmids and includes complete chromosomes, organelles and plasmids as well as draft genome assemblies.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)This link opens in a new windowThe Nation's principal health statistics agency. Provides access to a wide array of statistical information in many different formats.
OMIM™ : Online Mendelian Inheritance in ManThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh. Its official home is omim.org.
Protein Data Bank (PDB)This link opens in a new windowThe single worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data.
Biomedical Informatics Databases
arXiv.org e-Print archiveThis link opens in a new windowAn e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
Biological Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world.
Cell Image LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThis Image Library is a repository for images and movies of cells from a variety of organisms. It demonstrates cellular architecture and functions with high quality images, videos, and animations.
DrugBankThis link opens in a new windowA unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowA biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database, which provides access to the most up-to-date citations and abstracts from biomedical and drug literature via EMBASE.com and Medline. It contains over 19 million indexed records from 7,000+ peer reviewed journals, covering 1947 to date, with more than 600,000 additions annually.
Entrez StructureThis link opens in a new windowThe Molecular Modelling Database (MMDB) contains 3-D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. MMDB contains over 40,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors.
Histology Guide: Virtual Microscopy LaboratoryThis link opens in a new windowHistology Guide teaches the visual art of recognizing the structure of cells and tissues and understanding how this is determined by their function. Rather than reproducing information found in a histology textbook, a user is shown how to apply this knowledge to interpret cells and tissues as viewed through a microscope.
NCBIThis link opens in a new windowThe National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
PubChemThis link opens in a new windowProvides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
SciFinder-n 1 of 2 - initial registration linkThis link opens in a new windowYou must register for a personal account with your TTUHSC email address (@ttuhsc.edu) in order to use SciFinder even if you are on campus within our authorized IP ranges. This account will be used every time you use SciFinder.
SciFinder-n 2 of 2 - normal usage linkThis link opens in a new windowProvides researchers access to "the world's largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. SciFinder offers researchers a one-stop shop experience with flexible search and discover options based on our users' input and workflow. You can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references.
You must register for a personal account with your TTUHSC email address (@ttuhsc.edu) in order to use SciFinder even if you are on campus within our authorized IP ranges. This account will be used every time you use SciFinder.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Includes abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series, as well as patents. "Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources."
Subject areas covered:
Life Sciences
Health Sciences
Physical Sciences
Social Sciences
Note: "Scopus also includes the historical material published by American Chemical Society, the Springer/Kluwer archive, Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Chemistry and the journals Nature and Science. Scopus has loaded the archives of Elsevier (back to 1823) and the journals Science (back to 1880) and Nature (back to 1869"
Note: Click here for more information about Scopus.
See also: arXiv.org e-Print archive
See also: Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
See also: Scirus
SpringerProtocolsThis link opens in a new windowThe largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from the successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
Click "Video available" filter to limit to videos.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowToday's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.
