Libraries: Health Professions: Laboratory Sciences & Primary Care

Key Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window An innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources. To keep pace with the changing practice of medicine, Delivers the latest medical advances and knowledge from recognized physicians delivered in a digital aggregation with online desktop and MP3 compatible device solutions. Updated daily by world-renowned physicians and expanded continuously.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window An online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references. Includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drugs, lab tests, calculators, videos, self-assessment, cases and care plans, and more.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) This link opens in a new window Searchable Web site. Note: One of the Medical Library Association's "Top Ten" Most Useful Websites For Health Consumers.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window A registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
DailyMed This link opens in a new window Provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
Electronic Orange Book : Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations This link opens in a new window enables searching of the approved drug list by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder or applicant number. The data is updated concurrently with the publication of the annual edition or cumulative supplements.
Entrez Structure This link opens in a new window The Molecular Modelling Database (MMDB) contains 3-D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. MMDB contains over 40,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) This link opens in a new window Searchable Web site.
PubChem This link opens in a new window Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window A cross-searchable, healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools in one site
See also: ACP's PIER© : The Physicians' Information and Education Resource
See also: Anatomy.tv
See also: MedCalc 3000
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window The Sanford Guide provides infectious disease information designed for use at the point of care.

Entrez Structure This link opens in a new window The Molecular Modelling Database (MMDB) contains 3-D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. MMDB contains over 40,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors.
Flickr: Specimens (Pathology) by Ed Uthman This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n 1 of 2 - initial registration link This link opens in a new window You must register for a personal account with your TTUHSC email address (@ttuhsc.edu) in order to use SciFinder even if you are on campus within our authorized IP ranges. This account will be used every time you use SciFinder.
SciFinder-n 2 of 2 - normal usage link This link opens in a new window Provides researchers access to "the world's largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. SciFinder offers researchers a one-stop shop experience with flexible search and discover options based on our users' input and workflow. You can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references.
You must register for a personal account with your TTUHSC email address (@ttuhsc.edu) in order to use SciFinder even if you are on campus within our authorized IP ranges. This account will be used every time you use SciFinder.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Includes abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series, as well as patents. "Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources."
Subject areas covered:
Life Sciences
Health Sciences
Physical Sciences
Social Sciences
Note: "Scopus also includes the historical material published by American Chemical Society, the Springer/Kluwer archive, Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Chemistry and the journals Nature and Science. Scopus has loaded the archives of Elsevier (back to 1823) and the journals Science (back to 1880) and Nature (back to 1869"
Note: Click here for more information about Scopus.
See also: arXiv.org e-Print archive
See also: Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
See also: Scirus
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window A clinical insight engine designed specifically to address physicians' 3 key search requirements. It provides comprehensive, trusted, and speedy content structured to align with doctors' workflows, whether they are treating and diagnosing patients, staying current in their field, or preparing care plans.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window Formerly National Guidelines Clearinghouse (NGC). Repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content
Requires free personal registration.
MedlinePlus® Health Information from the National Library of Medicine This link opens in a new window Will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
PsycINFO® This link opens in a new window An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly. Provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool created by a physician for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice.

Web Resources

American Academy of Forensic Science
American Association of Immunologists
American Association of Neuropathologists
American Board of Pathology
American Pathology Foundation
American Society for Clinical Pathology
American Society for Cytopathology
American Society for Histopathology and Immunogenetics
American Society for Investigative Pathology
Association for Molecular Pathology
Digital Pathology A Brown university website which provides gross and microscopic digital images of common and uncommon pathological conditions
Pathology Outlines Provides useful professional information to practicing pathologists and laboratory personnel.
United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology
WebPath WebPath contains over 2700 images and illustrations of microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. There are also over 1300 examination items and more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas.

Books & eBooks

Wintrobe's Atlas of Clinical Hematology by Tkachuk; Babette Weksler; Scott Ely; Geraldine P. Schechter
ISBN: 9781605476148
Publication Date: 2017-09-16
Molecular Diagnostics by George P. Patrinos (Editor); Wilhelm Ansorge (Editor); Phillip B. Danielson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128029718
Publication Date: 2016-11-14
Laboratory Diagnosis of Infectious Diseases by Paul G. Engelkirk; Janet Duben-Engelkirk; Janet L. Duben-Engelkirk
ISBN: 9780781797016
Publication Date: 2007-10-08
Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics by Nader Rifai
ISBN: 9780323359214
Publication Date: 2017-02-06

Molecular Biology of the Cell by Hunt
ISBN: 0815332181
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Foundations of Clinical Research by Leslie G. Portney; Mary P. Watkins
ISBN: 9780803646575
Publication Date: 2015-03-18
Calculations for Molecular Biology and Biotechnology by Frank H. Stephenson
ISBN: 9780128022115
Publication Date: 2016-06-15
The Nature of Disease by Thomas H. McConnell
ISBN: 9780781753173
Publication Date: 2006-12-15
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by Robert L. Nussbaum; Roderick R. McInnes; Huntington F. Willard
ISBN: 9781437706963
Publication Date: 2015-05-21

Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics by William W. Hay; Mark J. Abzug; Robin R. Deterding; Myron J. Levin
ISBN: 9781259862908
Publication Date: 2018-05-28
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Physician Assistant: a Guide to Clinical Practice by Ruth Ballweg; Darwin Brown; Daniel Vetrosky; Tami S. Ritsema
ISBN: 9780323401128
Publication Date: 2017-04-20
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781469893419
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9780781780667
Publication Date: 2008-12-04
Pharmacology by Richard A. Harvey; Michelle A. Clark; Richard Finkel; Jose A. Rey; Karen Whalen
ISBN: 9781451113143
Publication Date: 2011-06-17
BRS Physiology by Linda S. Costanzo
ISBN: 9781496367617
Publication Date: 2018-04-21
Oski's Pediatrics by Ralph D. Feigin (Editor); Catherine DeAngelis (Editor); M. Douglas Jones (Editor); Julia A. McMillan (Editor-In-Chief); Ralph David Feigin (Editor)
ISBN: 0781738946
Publication Date: 2006-04-25
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall
ISBN: 9781455770052
Publication Date: 2015-05-20
The Harriet Lane Handbook by Johns Hopkins Hospital; Lauren Kahl; Helen K. Hughes; Keith Kleinman (Editor); Lauren McDaniel (Editor); Matthew H. Molloy (Editor); Nicole Shikofski (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323399555
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. Trevor
ISBN: 9781259641152
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Blueprints Psychiatry by Michael J. Murphy; Ronald L. Cowan
ISBN: 9780781782531
Publication Date: 2008-11-14
Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2018 by Michael W. Rabow; Stephen J. McPhee; Maxine A. Papadakis
ISBN: 9781259861482
Publication Date: 2017-09-02

eJournals

Annals of Clinical & Laboratory Science (0091-7370)
Clinical Laboratory Science (0894-959X)
Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences (1040-8363)
Journal Of Laboratory And Clinical Medicine (0022-2143)
Translational Research: The Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine (1931-5244)

Clinical Laboratory News (2015-Current)

American Journal of Clinical Pathology (0002-9173)
Clinical Molecular Pathology (1355-2910)
Diagnostic Molecular Pathology (1052-9551)
Experimental & Molecular Pathology (0014-4800)
Journal of Clinical Pathology (London) (0021-9746)
Journal of Molecular Diagnostics (1943-7811)
Molecular Pathology (1366-8714)
Pediatric Pathology & Molecular Medicine (1522-7952)
Research Communications in Molecular Pathology & Pharmacology (1078-0297)
Virchows Archiv. B. Cell Pathology (0340-6075)

JAAPA (1547-1896)
Journal of physician assistant education : the official journal of the Physician Assistant Education Association (1941-9430)
Physician Assistant (8750-7544)
Physician Assistant Clinics (2405-7991)
Surgical physician assistant (1080-6393)

Health Professions: Laboratory Sciences & Primary Care

Key Databases

Web Resources

Books & eBooks

eJournals

Library Tutorials