Libraries: Health Professions: Rehabilitation Sciences

Key Databases

PEDro : Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window A free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window A new resource for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification. Leading the next generation of online physical therapy resources. Features content from leading McGraw-Hill texts, interactive imaging content, exclusive multimedia, and flexible curricular tools.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool designed for use by rehabilitation clinicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists at the point of care. It provides valid and relevant information intuitively and conveniently, using the best available evidence to help support clinical decisions.
CISDOC - Occupational Safety and Health Database This link opens in a new window Contains information about occupational safety and health publications, including summaries of their content, organized in 'records'.
OTseeker This link opens in a new window A database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.

AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window A new resource for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification. Leading the next generation of online physical therapy resources. Features content from leading McGraw-Hill texts, interactive imaging content, exclusive multimedia, and flexible curricular tools.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window F.A. Davis and McGraw-Hill Education bring you a comprehensive online PT resource that covers the entire spectrum of physical therapy—for viewing on any device.
PEDro : Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window A free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Includes abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series, as well as patents. "Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources."
Subject areas covered:
Life Sciences
Health Sciences
Physical Sciences
Social Sciences
Note: "Scopus also includes the historical material published by American Chemical Society, the Springer/Kluwer archive, Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Chemistry and the journals Nature and Science. Scopus has loaded the archives of Elsevier (back to 1823) and the journals Science (back to 1880) and Nature (back to 1869"
Note: Click here for more information about Scopus.
See also: arXiv.org e-Print archive
See also: Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
See also: Scirus

Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool designed for use by rehabilitation clinicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists at the point of care. It provides valid and relevant information intuitively and conveniently, using the best available evidence to help support clinical decisions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
Natural Medicines [formerly Natural Standard] This link opens in a new window An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary Editorial Board.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Web Resources

Books & Ebooks

Principles of Athletic Training: a Guide to Evidence-Based Clinical Practice by William E. Prentice
ISBN: 9781259824005
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology by Roger J. Houglum; Peggy A. Houglum; Dolores B. Bertoti
ISBN: 9780803623521
Publication Date: 2011-12-07
Orthopedic Physical Assessment Atlas and Video by David J. Magee; Derrick Sueki
ISBN: 1437716032
Publication Date: 2010-12-21

Occupational Therapy with Aging Adults by Karen Barney; Margaret Perkinson
ISBN: 9780323067768
Publication Date: 2015-12-09
Mosby's Field Guide to Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by Mosby
ISBN: 9780323067676
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Preparing for the Occupational Therapy National Board Exam by Rosanne DiZazzo-Miller; Joseph M. Pellerito
ISBN: 9780763757687
Publication Date: 2010-01-06
Service-Learning in Occupational Therapy Education by Kathleen Flecky; Lynn Gitlow
ISBN: 9780763759582
Publication Date: 2009-11-27

Therapeutic Exercise by Carrie M. Hall; Lori Thein Brody
ISBN: 0781741351
Publication Date: 2004-10-08
Therapeutic Exercise by Carolyn Kisner; Lynn Allen Colby; John Borstad
ISBN: 9780803658509
Publication Date: 2017-10-18
Physical Agents in Rehabilitation by Michelle H. Cameron
ISBN: 9781416032571
Publication Date: 2008-05-19
Pharmacology in Rehabilitation by Charles D. Ciccone
ISBN: 9780803640290
Publication Date: 2015-04-10
Acute care handbook for physical therapists by Jaime C. Paz, Michele P. West
ISBN: 9780323227551
Publication Date: 2014

Basic Biomechanics by Susan J. Hall
ISBN: 0073522767
Publication Date: 2017

eJournals

Athletic Training & Sports Health Care (1942-5864)
Athletic Training Education Journal (1947-380X)

Excercise and Sports Sciences Reviews (1538-3008)
International Journal of Athletic Therapy & Training (2157-7277)
Journal of Athletic Training (1062-6050)

Administration & Management Special Interest Section Quarterly (1093-720X)
American Journal of Occupational Therapy (0272-9490)
Asian Journal of Occupational Therapy (1347-3476)
Australian Occupational Therapy Journal (0045-0766)
British journal of occupational therapy (0308-0226)
Cadernos Brasileiros de Terapia Ocupacional (2526-8910)
Cadernos de Terapia Ocupacional da UFSCar (0104-4931)
Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy (0008-4174)
Gerontology Special Interest Section Quarterly (1093-717X)
Hong Kong Journal of Occupational Therapy (1569-1861)
Indian Journal of Occupational Therapy (0445-7706)
Indian Journal of Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy (0973-5674)
Irish Journal of Occupational Therapy (2398-8819)
Israel Journal of Occupational Therapy (0792-7002)
Journal of occupational therapy students : JOTS (0000-078T)
Mental Health Occupational Therapy (1363-4682)
New Zealand Journal of Occupational Therapy (1171-0462)
Occupational therapy and rehabilitation (0000-105T)
Occupational Therapy in Health Care (0738-0577)
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health (0164-212X)

Annual Report of The Tohoku Section of Japanese Physical Therapy Association(0915-2180)
Archives of physical therapy (0096-6037)
Bulletin of Faculty of Physical Therapy (1110-6611)
Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy Journal (1541-7891)
International Journal of Sports Physical Therapy (2159-2896)
Japanese Journal of Health Promotion and Physical Therapy (2186-3741)
Journal of Acute Care Physical Therapy (2158-8686)
Journal of Aquatic Physical Therapy (2377-6102)
Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy (1539-8412)

Journal of Hand Therapy (1987-present)
Journal of Kansai Physical Therapy (1346-9606)
Journal of neurologic physical therapy (1557-0576)
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy (0190-6011)
Journal of Physical Therapy (2079-0015)
Journal of Physical Therapy Practice and Research (1880-070X)
Journal of Physical Therapy Science (0915-5287)
Journal of Respiratory & Cardiovascular Physical Therapy (2238-4677)
Journal of the Japanese Physical Therapy Association (1344-1272)
Journal of Women's Health Physical Therapy (1556-6803)
Journal, physical therapy education (0899-1855)
North American Journal of Sports Physical Therapy (1558-6162)

American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (1988-present)

American Rehabilitation (1990-present)

Archives of Pm&R (Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation) (0003-9993)
BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation (2052-1847)

Disability and Rehabilitation (1992-present)

Disability and Rehabilitation Assistive Technology (1748-3115)
Japanese Journal of Comprehensive Rehabilitation Science (2185-5323)

The Journal of Burn Care & Rehabilitation (1984-2005)

Journal of Burn Care & Research (2006-present)

Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation (1991-present)

Journal of Paramedical Science and Rehabilitation (2322-5238)

Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development (1984-present)

Tutorials

Doctor of Physical Therapy Orientation