Libraries: Health Professions: Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences

Key Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Note: After logging in, select Health and Psychosocial Instruments.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO® This link opens in a new window An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly. Provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Explore scientific, technical, and medical research on ScienceDirect. Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.
ScienceDirect Image Search This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.

Web Resources

Books & eBooks

Otoacoustic Emissions by Sumitrajit Dhar; James W. Hall
ISBN: 9781597563420
Publication Date: 2011-05-25
Pediatric Audiology by Carol Ann Flexer (Editor); Jane R. Madell (Editor)
ISBN: 9781604060010
Publication Date: 2008-04-03
Audiology - Diagnosis by Ross J. Roeser; Michael Valente; Holly Hosford-Dunn
ISBN: 9781588905420
Publication Date: 2007-06-03
Programming Cochlear Implants by Jace Wolfe; Erin Schafer
ISBN: 9781597563727
Publication Date: 2010-03-18

Preclinical Speech Science by Thomas J. Hixon; Gary G. Weismer; Jeannette D. Hoit
ISBN: 9781597561822
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
Language Disorders Across the Lifespan by Betsy Partin Vinson
ISBN: 1418009547
Publication Date: 2006-07-13
Fundamentals of Hearing by William A. Yost
ISBN: 0127756957
Publication Date: 2000-07-17

Augmentative and Alternative Communication by David R. Beukelman; Pat Mirenda
ISBN: 1557666849
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
The Voice and Voice Therapy by Daniel R. Boone; Stephen C. McFarlane; Shelley L. Von Berg; Richard I. Zraick; Stephen C. MacFarlane
ISBN: 9780205609536
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
Motor Speech Disorders by Donald Freed
ISBN: 1565939514
Publication Date: 1999-11-23
Dysphagia : clinical management in adults and children by Michael E. Groher, Michael A. Crary
ISBN: 9780323187022
Publication Date: 2016
Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by Rosemary Lubinski (Editor); Carol Frattali (Editor)
ISBN: 9780769300023
Publication Date: 2000-08-18

eJournals

American Journal of Audiology (1059-0889)

Audiology (1735-1936)

AUDIOLOGY (1884-331X)

Audiology (Basel) (0020-6091)

Audiology - Communication Research (2317-6431)

Audiology and Neuro-Otology (1420-3030)

Audiology Japan (0303-8106)

Audiology Online (1947-9735)

Audiology Research (2039-4330)

Audiology today : (1535-2609)

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Audiology (1443-4873)

Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (1913-200X)

Ear & Hearing (0196-0202)

International audiology (0000-067T)

International Journal of Audiology (1499-2027)

Journal of Audiology & Otology (2384-1621)

Journal of Educational Audiology (1526-6095)

Journal of Educational, Pediatric & (Re)Habilitative Audiology (2378-0908)

Journal of Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology (0848-1970)

Journal of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology (0149-8886)

Journal of the American Academy of Audiology (1050-0545)

Journal of the American Audiology Society (0360-9294)

Korean Journal of Audiology (2092-9862)

Scandinavian Audiology (0105-0397)

Communication Quarterly (0146-3373)

Computer Speech and Language (0885-2308)

EURASIP Journal on Audio, Speech, and Music Processing (1687-4714)

International Journal of Language and Communication Disorders (1368-2822)

Journal of Indian Speech Language & Hearing Association (0974-2131)

Journal of Nanomaterials (1687-4110)

Journal of Speech Language & Hearing Research (1092-4388)

Journal of the All India Institute of Speech & Hearing (0973-662X)

Jshd (Journal of Speech & Hearing Disorders) (0022-4677)

Jshr (Journal of Speech & Hearing Research) (0022-4685)

Language and Speech (0023-8309)

Language, Speech & Hearing Services in the Schools (0161-1461)

Perspectives on Neurophysiology and Neurogenic Speech and Language Disorders (1940-7769)

Perspectives on Speech Science & Orofacial Disorders (1940-7572)

Phonetica (0031-8388)

Phonoscope : voice-speech-swallowing clinics in head and neck practice (1090-378X)

Seminars in Speech & Language (0734-0478)

The Southern Communication Journal (1041-794X)

Speech and Language Therapy in Practice (1368-2105)

Speech Communication (0167-6393)

Speech Communication Education (1347-0663)

Speech Technology (1088-5803)

Advances in Speech-Language Pathology (1441-7049)

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (1058-0360)

ASHA Leader (1085-9586)

Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (1913-200X)

International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (1754-9507)

Journal of Medical Speech-Language Pathology (1065-1438)

Journal of Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology (0848-1970)