Libraries: Health Professions: Clinical Counseling & Mental Health

Key Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Use EBSCOhost to search any combination of EBSCO databases.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Note: After logging in, select Health and Psychosocial Instruments.
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
NatMed This link opens in a new window An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary Editorial Board.
NeuroBITE This link opens in a new window NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI).
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window A powerful website that features DSM-IV-TR® and The American journal of psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, PsychiatryOnline features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable you to quickly target all the information you need.
PsycINFO® This link opens in a new window An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly. Provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
TexShare This link opens in a new window A wealth of electronic database resources to over 700 public, academic, and libraries of clinical medicine throughout the state at a significant cost savings. These electronic databases are powerful research tools available 24 hours a day in the homes or offices of registered patrons of participating Texas libraries. They provide full-text articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and many other sources. Entire books can even be read while on-line. Database topics include homework help for students, health information, business information, biography and genealogy, as well as literature and archival information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Today's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.