This guide is intended to aid those in the Health Professions disciplines. It can be used by various programs and departments to access needed texts and journal resources. Further database information and frequently used items can be found at the library homepage's A-Z Databases and other resources. Additional items will be added as needed. If you have any requests or comments, please contact me or let the library know. Also, if you'd like to review potential journals for purchase, you can do so through the library's purchase suggestions form.
Frequently Used Databases
Cabells JournalyticsThis link opens in a new windowThis curated list of over 11,000 academic journals spanning 18 disciplines guides researchers and institutions in getting the most impact out of their research.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)This link opens in a new windowSearchable Web site. Note: One of the Medical Library Association's "Top Ten" Most Useful Websites For Health Consumers.
MedlinePlus® Health Information from the National Library of MedicineThis link opens in a new windowWill direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
PEDro : Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowA free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
the Point for FacultyThis link opens in a new windowThis portal allows faculty to access supplemental education and instruction materials from LWW. See also: LWW Health Library
For faculty only. Requires an institutional username and password. Please email tara.allison@ttuhsc.edu to get the login.
PsycINFO®This link opens in a new windowAn electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly. Provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
See also: Entrez
See also: MEDLINE® (MEDical literature, analysis, and retrieval system onLINE)
See also: NLM Gateway
See also: OLDMEDLINE
See also: PubMedCentral
See also: PubMed Clinical Queries
Rehabilitation Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool designed for use by rehabilitation clinicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists at the point of care. It provides valid and relevant information intuitively and conveniently, using the best available evidence to help support clinical decisions.
Sanford GuideThis link opens in a new windowThe Sanford Guide provides infectious disease information designed for use at the point of care.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Includes abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series, as well as patents. "Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources."
Subject areas covered:
Life Sciences
Health Sciences
Physical Sciences
Social Sciences
Note: "Scopus also includes the historical material published by American Chemical Society, the Springer/Kluwer archive, Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Chemistry and the journals Nature and Science. Scopus has loaded the archives of Elsevier (back to 1823) and the journals Science (back to 1880) and Nature (back to 1869"
Note: Click here for more information about Scopus.
See also: arXiv.org e-Print archive
See also: Cogprints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
See also: Scirus
TexShareThis link opens in a new windowA wealth of electronic database resources to over 700 public, academic, and libraries of clinical medicine throughout the state at a significant cost savings. These electronic databases are powerful research tools available 24 hours a day in the homes or offices of registered patrons of participating Texas libraries. They provide full-text articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and many other sources. Entire books can even be read while on-line. Database topics include homework help for students, health information, business information, biography and genealogy, as well as literature and archival information.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowToday's premier research platform, helping you quickly find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You get integrated access to high quality literature through a unified platform that links a wide variety of content with one seamless search." Note: The TTUHSC Doorknobs do not hold a subscription to Essential Science Indicators or InCites.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by 
