Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 
 

Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis: Tips for Getting Started: Searching for Studies: Electronic Databases

This quick guide is a brief outline of steps to follow when creating a systematic review or a meta-analysis.

Library Quick Guides

Handouts/Links from Orientations

Poll

Was this Guide useful to you?
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
No: 1 votes (100%)
Total Votes: 1

Searching for Studies: Electronic Databases

Search electronic databases which index journals that publish articles relevant to the subject topic.

Biomedical:   PubMed, Embase, Ageline, Cancer.gov, National Guideline Clearinghouse

Basic Science:  Scopus, Web of Science

Evidence Based:  Cochrane Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Nursing:  CINAHL Complete, Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI), PEPID

Occupational Therapy:  OT Search

Physical Therapy:  CINAHL Complete, Pedro

Pharmaceutical:  Embase, Micromedex, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, PharmGKB

Psychiatry/Psychology:  PubMed, Embase, PsychInfo, Psychiatry Online

Speech, Language, Pathology:  PubMed, CINAHL CompleteLinguistics & Language Pathology,

       Rehabilitation Reference CenterScopus

These databases and others are listed under the All Databases icon on the libraries homepage: www.ttuhsc.edu/libraries

NOTE:  Keep or obtain a copy of the search strategy(ies) used when searching the database(s).  This information is reported in published systematic reviews.

 

2. Haase, S.  (2011).  Systematic Reviews and Meta-analysis.  Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 127(2), 955-966.  PMID: 21285802

4. Sambunjak, D., & Franic, M.  (2012).  Steps in the undertaking of a systematic review in orthopaedic surgery.  International Orthopaedics, 36(3), 477-84.

 

 

Contact Reference

Ask A Librarian

Amarillo Reference: 806-414-9964

Lubbock Reference: 806-743-2200; ask for a reference librarian

Odessa/Permian Reference; 432-703-5030

 

TeamViewer

Expert Contact - Lubbock

Peggy Edwards's picture
Peggy Edwards
Contact:
3601 4th Street
Mail Stop 7781
Lubbock, TX 79430
806-743-2212
Subjects:Reference
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo